ISBN: 9781851779888

Publication date: 29 Oct 2018

Author: V&A Publishing

This set of 50 postcards features highlights from the V&A's world-class collection. Seminal prints by nineteenth-century pioneers William Henry Fox Talbot and Julia Margaret Cameron; botanical and motion studies by Anna Atkins and Eadweard Muybridge; early colour photographs by Agnes Warburg and Nickolas Muray; pictures by twentieth-century greats Alfred Stieglitz and Edward Steichen; works by some of the most influential modern and contemporary artists and photographers, including Eugène Atget, Man Ray and Cindy Sherman; examples of the V&A’s recent acquisitions by Hiroshi Sugimoto, Cornelia Parker, Linda McCartney and Mark Cohen: from the daguerreotype to the digital, this selection celebrates a history of photography. Artists featured: Anna Atkins (1797-1871) William Henry Fox Talbot (1800-77) Benjamin Brecknell Turner (1815-94) Julia Margaret Cameron (1815-79) Roger Fenton (1819-69) Gustave Le Gray (1820-84) Don Juan Carlos María Isidro de Borbón, Count of Montizón (1822-87) Leonida Caldesi (1822-91) and Mattia Montecchi (1816-71) Eadweard Muybridge (1830-1904) Charles Lutwidge Dodgson (aka Lewis Carol) (1832-98) Séraphin-Méderic Mieusement (1840-1905) and Paul Robert (1865-98) Timothy O’ Sullivan (1840-82) Eugène Atget (1857-1927) Ema Spencer (1857-1941) Alfred Ernest Payne (1859-1936) F. Holland Day (1864-1933) Alfred Stieglitz (1864-1946) Herbert Ponting (1870-1935) Agnes Warburg (1872-1953) Bernard Eilers (1878-1951) Emil Otto Hoppé (1878-1972) Edward Steichen (1879-1973) Alvin Langdon Coburn (1882-1966) Rudolph Koppitz (1884-1936) Erich Salomon (1886-1944) Frederick William Bond (1887-1942) Man Ray (1890-1976) Nickolas Muray (1892-1965) Herbert Bayer (1900-85) Cecil Beaton (1904-1980) Horst P. Horst (1906-1999) Bill Brandt (1904-83) Frank Horvat (born 1928) Gianni Penati (born 1930) J.D. 'Okhai Ojeikere (1930-2014) Linda McCartney (1941-98) Mark Cohen (born 1943) Hiroshi Sugimoto (born 1948) Tom Wood (born 1951) Nan Goldin (born 1953) Cindy Sherman (born 1954) Sian Bonnell (born 1956) Cornelia Parker (born 1956) Thomas Ruff (born 1958) Garry Fabian Miller (born 1957) Jan Kempenaers (born 1968) Mary McCartney (born 1969)